The CHANEL-CE.R.I.E.S. Research Award Honours Two Leading Scientists and Supports Pioneering Studies on Healthy Skin

2015-09-03 21:29 2327

PARIS, Sept. 3, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- CHANEL Research and Technology announces the latest two winners of the CHANEL-CE.R.I.E.S. Research Award: Julia Segre Ph.D (USA) receives the 2014 Award and Emi Nishimura M.D., Ph.D. (Japan) is nominated as the 2015 Award recipient.  


This annual Award is intended to honour the accomplishments of a scientific researcher with a proven track record in fundamental or clinical research work and to encourage his or her continued research activity. The field of research concerns the physiology or biology of healthy skin and/or its reactions to environmental factors.  

"Ever since we created the CHANEL-CE.R.I.E.S. Research Award in 1996, our aim has been to support ground-breaking skin research projects, aiming to enrich our understanding of the skin with new findings made available to all," comments Christian Mahé, Senior Vice President, CHANEL Research & Technology.  "Our most recent laureates are proof of this aim and we are proud to support their trail-blazing work".

Research into healthy skin microbial communities to throw light on skin individuality 

Julia Segre Ph.D. holds the position of Senior Investigator at the National Human Genome Research Institute in Bethesda, MD, USA. Her research focuses on understanding the skin's microbiome and the role of surface bacteria, fungi, and viruses in the maintenance of healthy skin.

"Professor Segre's project will apply powerful DNA sequencing techniques to skin swabs obtained from healthy volunteers to characterize resident bacteria and other microbes at multiple dry, moist and sebum-rich body sites," explains Professor Barbara Gilchrest, President of the CE.R.I.E.S. Scientific Advisory Board which selects the annual Awardees.  "By repeatedly sampling these volunteers for two years, she will also determine whether these species vary over time.  Her work reflects the very recent appreciation that human beings exist in equilibrium with trillions of microbes on the skin and in the intestine that strongly influence body function."

"Indeed, my work has demonstrated that individuality refines and selects the strains of bacteria that reside on our bodies," comments Professor Segre.  "The research grant supported by the CHANEL-CE.R.I.E.S. Award will enable us to further explore this microbial individuality over time.  I am honoured to be selected as the recipient of the Award which recognises excellence in skin research."

Professor Segre's project will pave the way for innovative cosmetic research targeting individual beauty and skin needs.

Innovative stem cell research may lead to new ways of delaying signs of skin aging 

Emi Nishimura M.D., Ph.D. is Professor and Chair, Department of Stem Cell Biology, Medical Research Institute at the Tokyo Medical and Dental University in Japan. Her work aims to further elucidate the mechanisms of skin aging and their application to skin regeneration and rejuvenation.

"Professor Nishimura's project will employ sophisticated genetic and imaging techniques to monitor the fate of so-called stem cells in skin and hair follicles and to determine their response to environmental stress and aging," explains Professor Gilchrest.

"The Award is not only a great honour for me, but also extremely encouraging", states Professor Nishimura.  "The path leading to new scientific discoveries is not always an easy one.  The Award encourages me to continue, striving towards new ways of further deepening our universal understanding of the skin".

Applied to the field of cosmetic science, Professor Nishimura's project may lead to new preventative measures to delay the classic signs of aging.

CHANEL-CE.R.I.E.S. Research Award 

The CHANEL-CE.R.I.E.S. Research Award of 40,000€ is supported by CHANEL Research and Technology. Applications open in February each year on:

Previous CHANEL-CE.R.I.E.S. Award Winners 

    2013: Robert L. Modlin, M.D., Los Angeles, USA        
    2012: Martin Röcken, M.D., Ph.D., Tübingen, Germany     
    2011: Joke A. Bouwstra, Ph.D., Leiden, Netherlands    
    2010: Howard Y. Chang, M.D., Ph.D., Stanford, USA
    2009: Sabine Werner, Ph.D., Zurich, Switzerland
    2008: Paul A. Khavari, M.D., Ph.D., Stanford, USA
    2007: Richard L. Gallo, M.D.,Ph.D., San Diego, USA
    2006: Irwin McLean Ph.D., DSc, FRSE, Scotland, UK 
    2005: Masayuki Amagai, M.D. Tokyo, Japan
    2004: Thomas Schwarz, M.D. Kiel, Germany
    2003: Angela M. Christiano, Ph.D., New York, USA
    2002: Dennis R. Roop, Ph.D., Houston, USA
    2001: Fiona M. Watt, D. Phil., London, UK
    2000: Michael Karin, Ph.D., San Diego, USA
    1999: Jonathan Rees, M.D., Edinburgh, UK
    1998: Jean Krutmann, M.D., Düsseldorf, Germany
    1997: Jens-Michael Schröder, Ph.D., Kiel, Germany
    1996: Akira Takashima, M.D., Ph.D., Dallas, USA

Source: CHANEL