US to lift travel ban, New vaccinated travel lanes for Singapore & More

2021-10-18 16:09

Coronavirus-related travel news continues to make headlines around the world. From Bali preparing to welcome visitors from 19 countries to EU third countries list getting a much-welcomed update, here are some of the major travel news highlights these past weeks.  

US to end travel ban for many countries on 8 November

The White House has finalized the date on which the US travel ban will, at last, be lifted. Fully vaccinated international travellers will be able to travel the United States starting from 8 November, ending the 21-month restrictions that had denied entry for visitors from the EU, UK, and much of the world.

The new travel rules will require non-American travellers to show proof of vaccination and a recent negative COVID-19 test before boarding a flight. However, all foreign travellers will not be required to quarantine.

Singapore to expand its Vaccinated Travel Lane

The city-state of Singapore will expand its Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) network on 19 October to include fully vaccinated travellers from eight more countries, namely Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, the UK, and the US. Singapore’s travel corridor will also include South Korea starting from 15 November.   

Apart from being fully vaccinated,  to be able to visit Singapore, travellers from the aforementioned countries must test negative for the virus and will have to take designated flights. No quarantine measures will be imposed on eligible travellers to the country.

Bali now open to travellers from 19 countries

Following the reopening of Bali Ngurah Rai International Airport, the Indonesian government has specified 19 countries whose residents are eligible to visit Bali and the Riau Islands. The specified countries are China, India, Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, New Zealand, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, Liechtenstein, Italy, France, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Poland, Hungary, and Norway.

The US is unfortunately not among the permitted countries, meaning that the Island of the Gods is not yet on the list of countries where US residents may travel to.

EU updates its list of approved third countries 

The European Union Council has updated its list of non-EU countries for which COVID-19 travel restrictions should be lifted and allow non-essential travel to the EU to resume. 

The list now includes Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Chile, China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity), Jordan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine, the UAE, and Uruguay. 

Member-states are now advised to remove the entry ban on travellers from these countries who have been fully immunized against COVID-19 with vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency.

Australians to be allowed overseas travel from November

The Australian government will allow outbound international travel to resume from 1 November. Apart from allowing Australians to travel abroad, the lifting of the ban also means that Australians stranded around the world due to the strict hotel quarantine caps can now return to the country. 

The authorities have stated that soon travellers will be able to apply for an international COVID-19 vaccination certificate containing a QR code. This will enable Australian travellers to get a step closer to safe overseas travel.

Source: Wego