UK Red List to be Removed, New Countries on EU Safe List, & More

2021-11-03 12:14

Coronavirus-related news continues to make headlines around the world. From new vaccine requirements for travellers to the US to the UAE updating travel rules for its citizens, here are some of the major travel news highlights from last week.

The UK to clear its red list

The UK authorities have announced that the seven remaining countries on its red list will be removed starting from November first. This means that travellers from all countries will be allowed to enter England although they will still be subject to testing requirements or quarantine, depending on their vaccination status. 

New Zealand - Australia to resume quarantine-free travel

Quarantine-free travel from New Zealand to Australia will resume this Monday as announced by Australia’s tourism minister. The resumption coincides with Australia’s partial reopening of its international borders for the first time since March 2020.

Furthermore, vaccinated Australian citizens and permanent residents living in New South Wales, Victoria and the ACT will be free to fly internationally from Monday without the need for an exemption or to quarantine upon return.

For now, however, only fully vaccinated tourists from neighbouring New Zealand will be allowed into Australia via the one-way trans-Tasman travel bubble.

The US reveals its vaccine requirements

Starting 8 November, fully vaccinated foreign nationals from anywhere in the world will be able to travel to the US subject to existing immigration regulations, including presenting a valid visa. Travellers will not be required to quarantine on arrival.

A traveller is considered fully vaccinated if they have completed a course of jabs with a vaccine authorized by the World Health Organisation (WHO) at least 14 days prior to travel.

The UAE announces fresh travel rules for citizens

The UAE has now allowed fully-vaccinated citizens to travel to countries listed on the UAE travel ban list, which are Bangladesh, India, Nigeria, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Uganda, Vietnam, and Zambia. 

The newly updated UAE travel rules state that UAE citizens are only allowed to travel to those countries if they are under 70 years of age and have obtained that prior approval from the authorities beforehand.

It is also mandatory for UAE citizens returning from their trip to these countries to present a valid negative COVID-19 PCR test within 48 hours from the time of departure. 

EU council announces new additions to its list of safe third countries

Following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru were added to the list of recommended countries to be eligible for travel to the EU on non-essential purposes. 

Travel to the EU is reserved for fully vaccinated travellers with Schengen associated countries namely, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland also taking part in this recommendation.

Source: Wego