omniture

Ensuring a robust 'blue' recovery in Asia and the Pacific: First webinar in the Blue Recovery Series on July 23, 2020

2020-07-21 16:07 1875

TOKYO, July 21, 2020 /PRNewswire/ -- Japan's National Ocean Day is a timely reminder of the challenges many countries around the world face in supporting and reviving their ocean economies in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. Accordingly, the Ocean Policy Research Institute of the Sasakawa Peace Foundation (OPRI-SPF), The Nippon Foundation, and the Economist Group will jointly organize a series of three webinars entitled the "Blue Recovery Series." The first webinar will be held on Thursday, July 23, 2020, on Japan's National Ocean Day, from 17:00–18:30 (JST), under the theme of "Ensuring a robust 'blue' recovery in Asia and the Pacific – Promoting Blue Recovery from COVID-19 and Achieving a Sustainable Ocean."

Tourism, fisheries and aquaculture, all important sectors in the region, have seen significant – and in the case of tourism, precipitous – declines in activity and widespread economic hardship. Reduced pressures on ocean ecosystems, on the other hand, have seen some natural recovery which in turn may help reinforce sustainable fisheries policies and pave the way for enhanced conservation measures, including for marine protected areas. The unexpected increase in the use of plastics during COVID-19 highlights the need for the urgent reduction of risks from marine plastics.

The first webinar in the series will explore what opportunities are offered by the economic pause to ignite a sustainable blue recovery and bolster policies for a sustainable ocean in Asia and the Pacific, and how practically these can be realized.

To register:
https://www.woi.economist.com/blue-recovery-series-ensuring-a-robust-blue-recovery/

For additional information on the series:
https://worldoceansummit.economist.com/webinars/blue-recovery-series-eng/ 

First webinar: "Ensuring a robust 'blue' recovery in Asia and the Pacific"
Thursday, July 23, 2020 5pm JST / 9am BST / 10am CET

Speakers:
H.E. Tommy E. Remengesau, Jr., President, Republic of Palau
Mr. Yohei Sasakawa, Chairman, The Nippon Foundation
Dr. Atsushi Sunami, President, Sasakawa Peace Foundation/President, Ocean Policy Research Institute of SPF (OPRI-SPF)
Ms. Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP)
Mr. Charles Goddard, Economist Asia Pacific Editor
Mr. Tatsuhiko Kashimura, Managing Director, Refinverse Inc.

*Please kindly note that the speakers are subject to change. Additional speakers to be confirmed

Language: English/Japanese with simultaneous interpretation
Participation is free of charge. Please register for the webinar in advance. An email will be sent with additional information for those who have completed registration.

Upcoming schedule:

Second webinar: "Science, innovation and the blue recovery"
Wednesday August 26, 2020, 5pm JST / 9am BST / 10am CET
*Speakers to be confirmed

Third webinar: "The blue recovery and the delayed ocean 'super' year"
Thursday September 3, 2020, 9pm JST/ 1pm BST / 2pm CET/ 8am EDT
*Speakers to be confirmed

Logo - https://photos.prnasia.com/prnh/20200210/2715262-1LOGO?lang=0

 

Source: Sasakawa Peace Foundation
collection